import wixWindow from ‘wix-window’; import wixLocation from ‘wix-location’; function open_Lightbox(){ let query = wixLocation.query; var goto = query.name; wixWindow.openLightbox(goto); } $w.onReady(function () { open_Lightbox); });
top of page

The Ascension Illinois Foundation

The Ascension Illinois Foundation raises tens of millions of dollars annually to advance the mission of Ascension Illinois across the greater Chicago area. Our community's generosity supports the work of our healthcare ministry across 15 hospitals, 230 sites of care and numerous programs and services that address our communities’ health needs.

Our Mission 

Rooted in the loving ministry of Jesus as healer, we commit ourselves to serving all persons with special attention to those who are poor and vulnerable. Our Catholic health ministry is dedicated to spiritually centered holistic care which sustains and improves the health of individuals and communities. We are advocates for a compassionate and just society through our actions and our words.

Alexian Brothers Hospital, Chicago IL
Doctor and nurses helping patient

Our Origin Story 

Long before Ascension became our sponsor, faith inspired a number of individuals — Catholic religious sisters and brothers — to use their gifts to serve those most in need in the greater Chicago area. Today, the healthcare ministries they started continue through Ascension Illinois. Here is a closer look at those whose work the Ascension Illinois Foundation carries on today:

Nurse holding shovel at groundbreaking of new hospital
Saints Mary and Elizabeth Chicago Historical Photo

Ascension Illinois Foundation Board

Inspired by our religious founders, a dedicated group of Foundation Board members, including community leaders, physicians and Ascension Illinois associates, lead the Ascension Illinois Foundation today. They are passionate about using their gifts to serve those most in need and make a positive impact on the health of our communities.

Rich Augustine

Board Member

Polly Davenport

Polly Davenport

Board Member

Ted Kanellakes

Board Member

Mark Pucci

Board Member

Shubhrajan Wadyal, MD

Board Member

Chris Woelffer

Board Member

Ken Bauwens

Ken Bauwens

Co-Chair

David Dopp

Board Member

Ratna Kunwar

Board Member

John Sullivan, DO

Board Member

Matt Walsh

Matthew P. Walsh II

Board Member

Suzanne Zaccone

Board Member

Mike Benoit

Mike Benoit

Co-Chair

Karen Fitzgerald

Board Member

Diane Latta

Board Member

James Swarthout

Board Member

George Wienold

George Wienold

Board Member

Jim Burke

Board Member

Melanie Furlan

Melanie Furlan

Board Member

Reinhold Llerena

Reinhold Llerena, MD

Board Member

Larry Swets

Larry G. Swets, Jr.

Board Member

Jim Wienold

Board Member

Jack Chamberlin, MD

Board Member

Terry Graber

Terry Graber

Board Member

Melissa Pontikes

Melissa Pontikes

Board Member

Janice Vlazny

Board Member

Nick Wienold

Board Member

OurTeam

Our Team

Melanie Furlan

Chief Philanthropy Officer

Melanie.Furlan@ascension.org

224-273-4110

Joan Matthys

Executive Assistant

Joan.Matthys@ascension.org

224-273-4104

Katelyn Olszak

Stewardship Officer

Katelyn.Olszak@ascension.org

815-382-7016

Cate Osterholz

Development Director

Catherine.Osterholz@ascension.org

815-509-3523

Foundation Grants

Anne Carmack

Grant Writer, Government

Anne.Carmack@ascension.org

847-507-4348

Marcy Darin

Director, Foundation Grants
Marcy.Darin@ascension.org

708-369-3241

Julie Panicali

Grant Writer

Julie.Panicali@ascension.org

224-273-4107

Valerie Reiss

Stewardship Officer

Valerie.Reiss@ascension.org

 847-653-3252

Beth Rottman

Development Director

Elizabeth.Rottman@ascension.org

708-473-1252

Foundation Operations

Jill Hulten

Vice President, Foundation Operations

Jill.Hulten@ascension.org

224-273-4103

Julie Baker

Director, Events

Julie.Baker@ascension.org

224-273-4106

Margaret Conley

Communications Specialist

Margaret.Conley@ascension.org

630-707-8547

Heather Cordova

Development Associate, Operations

Heather.Cordova@ascension.org

224-273-4108

Emily Douville

Director, Data Management

Emily.Douville@ascension.org

224-273-4102

Tracy Graal-Smith

Manager, Event Logistics & Third Party

Tracy.Graal@ascension.org

224-273-2652

Germaine Hill

Manager, Prospect Analysis & Development

Germaine.Hill@ascension.org

224-273-2431

Kate Minogue

Manager, Prospect Analysis & Development

Mary.Minogue@ascension.org

224-273-2656

Marilou Niggemann

Director, Annual Giving

Marilou.Niggemann@ascension.org

224-273-2653

Patti Sotos

Director, Stewardship

Patricia.Sotos@ascension.org

224-273-4112

bottom of page